Posted by: peterhact | September 13, 2012

Where did I go?

One of the fun things about LinkedIn is that there are a number of serial checkers who notice that I have left the company I was at, but haven’t shown up in the usual places. These checkers can’t dignify me with who they are, so it becomes a guessing game as to who they are. Honestly, it is amusing to see who they might be, but if you can’t be honest and open on LinkedIn, what sort of potential connection are you?

I have had a couple of strange requests recently for connections. If you aren’t in a group that I am in, or don’t know you from another connection, please tell me why it is very important to connect to me. Sending me a connection request that says “I would like to add you to my professional network”, where I have no clue who you are, means that it is unlikely that the connection is accepted.

If you think you know me, tell me where from. If you are trying to grow your network, and you really don’t know me, be honest. I respond well to people who say, after the standard “I would like to add you to my professional network”, I am interested in connecting to you because I think I worked with you at… or you were my rep at… or maybe there is some synergy between your company and me. Works a lot better.

If you are trying to hammer contacts through connections, be aware that I am not averse to reporting such activity. Many of my contacts are long term friends or family. Some are clients I have worked with over the years. Some remember me from the very old days of my career. My LinkedIn connections are really my contact database, my card file. (It is a lot easier than keeping business cards as the nature of industry in Canberra means we all shuffle around, no pun intended)

There are people who I have known for years who aren’t in my contacts, but they don’t need to be. I can find their details and contact them if I need to, but their details are kept out of LinkedIn for various reasons. Not my place to guess why.

I have not updated my details on LinkedIn. I probably won’t for a while, as this means that my competitors don’t know where I am. (I know they check my profile)

For those of you who know me, you know where I am. If you know me, but you don’t have a clue where I am, call me. you have my number.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

