Posted by: peterhact | August 25, 2012

What Happens when your life is in the Toilet?

what happens when the impact of various elements has finally caught up with you? What do you do?

I was separated for 3 years, and finally divorced this year. This was one of the impacts on my life – I went from having a family, a great job, to becoming negative and bitter, lashing out at co-workers, not actually understanding who I was anymore. I didn’t come home to a busy house, filled with kids and warmth and love. I was coming home to an empty and sad home, and it reflected in my behavior.

Another impact was the market downturn – organisations seem to be sticking with safe, not new technologies and this has a negative effect as well.

The final impact was that I was tarnished by comments made by certain individuals for no rhyme or reason, childish behavior that I would have thought was beneath them.

For these impacts to sink in, and do damage to me meant that my Positive Mental Attitude (PMA) was under such burden that I wasn’t positive, I wasn’t “in the game” at all. I have always had a great PMA. I have always seen the positives instead of the negatives and now all I could see was negatives. These impacts have come over a period of years and now I see that I need to rebuild me – I am always strong, tenacious, passionate about my chosen field, but there was something wrong. The fire in my belly was smoldering, not blazing as it should have been.

Where to from here? I have a bit of time to work out what is going on. I have to find the ignition for my fire and re-kindle it. I want to be as bright as the sun again, blazing a light for all to see and creating a fire that burns with an intensity that can’t be mistaken.

What happens when your life is in the toilet?

Flush away the bad stuff. wipe your negativity away and start again.

Because when your life is hitting rock bottom, the only way is up.

Leave a Reply

Categories

