Posted by: peterhact | July 23, 2012

Passion

There is always a bit of a problem explaining what I mean when I say I am passionate about technology. Do I love it? Yes, yes I do. But that is where it ends, I won’t sell one product over another because I am told to, I will sell the solution that I am convinced is the best for the client’s needs.

What do I define passion as? It is a fire in my belly, a click in my head, a moment of absolute clarity when I can see the hole that this particular product fits in. I can work backwards and forwards in my visualisation and see how it can make the solution work better than without it. I want to share this knowledge now, with my client. I can see if the product isn’t part of the solution, that solution will either miss the need being addressed or just fail in totality.

If you can’t visualise, don’t worry. Not everyone can. I can curl my tongue. Many people can’t. But this is an example of the diversity between people. If everyone saw the world in the same way, there would be no innovation, diverse ideas or concepts. My other little known talent (combined with talking with my hands) is the ability to weave the story about this solution. Apparently, I do it when reading stories to my kids, and have always done it, since I was a small child.

This tells me that I love the written word, but I love explaining it too. The greatest test in my industry is the preparation of tenders. I enjoy writing them, I just don’t enjoy the stress that goes with it. Lock me in a room with a Tender and I will deconstruct it, find the products or services that fit and exceed the requirements, usually with whiteboards, and then write a response that meets the core understanding of the tender requirements. I am passionate about writing it correctly, I enjoy researching the technology involved. Just don’t ask me to Bind, wrap and deliver the damn things.

(most are electronic these days, so that isn’t much of a problem)

When I look back at my career to date, there are several key brands that stand out as ones I was particularly passionate about:

Computers: NEC, Acer, HP, Compaq, IBM, Lenovo, Amstrad, Microbee, Apple and ASI.

Servers: Sun, Acer, NEC, Fujitsu, IBM, Apple, HP and ASI.

Notebooks: Acer, NEC, Fujitsu, IBM, Lenovo, HP, Compaq, Apple, ASI and Asus.

Connectivity: Telstra

Networking: Linksys, Netgear, D-Link, Cisco, HP.

Software – Operating Systems: Linux (Ubuntu, SuSe, Open SuSe, Red Hat), Solaris, Windows, Mac OSX.

Software – Applications: MS Office, Lotus Smartsuite, WordPerfect, Adobe Range, Autodesk range, Open Source.

Software – Security & Asset Management /discovery: Symantec, McAfee, Sophos, AVG, Avast, Kaspersky, Landesk, Centennial, several other brands long gone.

This is up until my last employer. Now I am learning about Riverbed, Credant, Imperva, Solarwinds, Websense and new versions from Landesk. There are many others not mentioned, but you get the picture. In today’s ICT environment, it is one thing to know these products, it is completely another to visualise how they can be bolted together to form solutions in each of the segments that the market has been pigeon holed into.

My Passion is now about thinking outside the box. Looking at the current events in the industry and working out ways to create solutions that ensure that the technology is a part of the solution, but isn’t the main focus. The new main focus is services, daunting for a product professional, but it just needs a small adjustment to make the service the product.

Leave a Reply

Categories

